You are now in the Republic of Austria.

This is the heart of Europe.

You are safe!

In this folder you will find a number of rules
which are very important in Austria.

Please adhere to these rules!

Austria's geographical location in Europe

Austria is a medium-sized country. Austria has approximately 8.6 million inhabitants.

Austria consists of nine federal provinces (Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol, Vorarlberg and Vienna). Vienna is a federal province as well as the capital of Austria.

The official language of Austria is German.

Most people in Austria are Christians.

Austria is a safe and stable country!

Most people in Austria are doing well.

In Austria, people stick together. Solidarity is an important cornerstone of society.

People ensure that Austria remains a stable and safe country. They pay taxes and fees for health, education and social system as well as for public safety.